I can’t believe this is real

4

August 9, 2012 by Julia

Seriously.  This ad is real.

It is hard to think of an attack ad lower than the one essentially blaming Mitt Romney for a woman’s death, but we may have just found one.

It’s from Florida, and it depicts Allen West (R-FL) in a boxing ring with red gloves on.  The cartoon-like video then shows West punching an old woman, a young lady and seemingly a family with children.  He also steals cash from the hands of the family and pockets it, all while laughing like a gremlin.

First of all, let me say emphatically for the record that I am 100% in favor of PACs and Super PACs airing and paying for (with their own money) all of the ads they want.  It’s called free speech, and I support it.  Yes, that’s right, I unabashedly agree with Citizens United.  It would defy logic if individuals have free speech rights but lose them once they join together in a group; it is also clear to me that money is speech, because it is obviously a proxy for (or sometimes in addition to) words of support.

HOWEVER–holy crap, liberals.  If a conservative group released this ad, the Left would be enraged within seconds.  We’ve got undertones (heck, overtones!) that are creepily racist, AND a guy beating up women.  I mean, I’m leery of leveling the same specious “dog whistle” charges against my opponents that they level against me, but . . . I mean . . . it’s pretty obvious, right? It’s certainly possible that the only actors who were any good were white, and clearly you can’t illustrate the metaphorical statement “He’s whacked women with his votes” without using a woman.  So, again, I’m not entirely convinced that this is some kind of coded attmept to make racist white people vote againt Rep. West, or to make women believe Rep. West is a frequent abuser of women.  I suspect the purpose was simply to make women vote against Rep. West based on various (untrue) emotional appeals, and it was poorly directed.  (I know, I know, I should never trust Alinskyites, but I will not make the same irresponsible accusations against them that they make against us.  We should be better than that)

But really . . . didn’t ANYONE think to screen this first?  There wasn’t one single test run on a panel of viewers?  Geez, they really are amateurs (at best.  At worst, they’re racists.  I’m not ruling that out).

EDITED TO ADD:

Wait, don’t forget this, either.

This week, we learn that in the real world, some abortion doctors are men like Charlotte, N.C.’s Dr. Ashutosh Virmani, who when surprised on July 26 by polite pro-life activists at his doorstep shouted that they should “adopt one of those ugly black babies” to save the taxpayers money.

“I, as a taxpayer, do not wish to pay for those babies to be born and brought up and kill those people in Colorado,” Virmani said, referring to the Aurora, Colo., theater killer, who was a college-educated white man.

Virmani has been a donor to Democrat candidates and causes, although not (unsurprisingly!) to President Obama.

According to OpenSecrets, Virmani donated $200 to the DNC in December. A Democratic National Committee spokesman did not immediately reply to a question asking whether the organization will return Virmani’s donation.

Wow.  They aren’t even hiding it anymore.

4 thoughts on “I can’t believe this is real

  1. lelnet says:

    Maybe they went to Britain to get their test audience, and found the same folks who focus-grouped the AGW-scaremonger ads where they advocated blowing up children.

    • Julia says:

      Oh, I remember that! I think these people exist in a very self-righteous world. “Of COURSE that’s appropriate, it advances our cause and our cause is just. What can possibly go wrong?”

  2. […] few days ago, I posted in disbelief about the reprehensible anti-Allen West ad showing him punching white women and stealing money from […]

  3. […]  I mean, this is the party that smears people like Condoleezza Rice, Herman Cain, Mia Love, and Allen West on a daily basis.  At the same time, they’ve become convinced (or, rather, they convince […]

Leave a Reply

The Ministry of Nerds

We're nerds . . . who talk politics.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

