Neil Armstrong

1

August 25, 2012 by Ish

Neil Armstrong, has died. The astronaut who became first to walk on the moon as commander of Apollo 11, has passed away 82 years old.

Many short-sighted fools think that going to the Moon was just a stunt. But the astronauts knew the meaning of what they were doing, as is shown by Neil Armstrong’s first words in stepping down onto the soil of Luna: “One small step for a man, one giant leap for mankind.” — Robert A. Heinlein

No snark, no sarcasm, no libertarian speculation on the future private space flight. I still think the next man who sets foot on the moon, will be part of a private commercial venture, rather than a tax-funded government program… But, Neil Armstrong is and will always be a hero.

One thought on “Neil Armstrong

  1. Matt says:

    Really sad when I read about his death. One of my first memories is watching the moon landing (I was 5 at the time). My Mom’s boyfriend was over and wanted to watch a baseball game instead. Also made some comment about her letting me stay up late to watch the moon landing. That was the last time he ever came over (My Mom is so damn cool). The memory of that first step onto the moon has lasted my entire life. At this point it instills pride in what this country can do and sadness that we seem to have forgotten that heritage.

Leave a comment

The Ministry of Nerds

We're nerds . . . who talk politics.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.