Your hypocrisy, I can see it

4

September 26, 2012 by Julia

This story is a bit old, but I was just clued into it today by Chicks on the Right.  Apparently, Bill O’Reilly wondered what the DNC would drop on Fluke during their convention.  Such suggestive statements are verboten in a land with no free speech, so Fluke opined on Ed Schultz’s MSNBC show that O’Reilly’s joke was “clearly offensive.”

Let’s break this down here.  Sandra Fluke, a woman whose name we only know because Rush Limbaugh called her a slut that one time, complained to Ed Schultz, a man who once called Laura Ingraham a slut, that a joke whose assumed punchline is “inflated condoms” was “clearly offensive,” even though the only reason she came to Limbaugh’s attention in the first place is because she gave Actual Congressional Testimony complaining about the allegedly unaffordability of birth control and demanding that Congress Do Something about it, and even though Planned Parenthood dresses up a woman as a birth control dispenser to stalk Mitt Romney apparently without offending Fluke.

Just take all that in for a moment.  Yeah. 

You know what I find clearly offensive?  That Sandra Fluke thinks she speaks for me.

4 thoughts on “Your hypocrisy, I can see it

  1. Ish says:

    Sandra Fluke was born slightly less than a month before I was… she went on to earn a B.A. in Feminist, Gender, & Sexuality Studies from Cornell and went on to earn her J.D. from Georgetown in 2012. While at Georgetown she was president of Georgetown Law Students for Reproductive Justice. She has never held a job outside of political advocacy — and while I respect her work in the field of domestic violence and human trafficking — one wonders just what the hell she learned at Cornell and Georgetown. Was Logic 101 not a part of the curriculum at either school? If you engage in politics and policy advocacy as a paid professional, you will be criticized by policy advocates and politicians from the other side.

    • Julia says:

      She learned in her Feminist, Gender, & Sexuality Studies classes that men are the enemy and every time a man criticizes you, you must ATTACK because you are BEING OPPRESSED BY HIS PENIS. I don’t know how you sat through those classes, Ish . . . they scare the crap out of me. Have you read Professing Feminism by Daphne Patai? http://www.amazon.com/Professing-Feminism-Education-Indoctrination-Studies/dp/0739104551/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1348709215&sr=8-2&keywords=daphne+patai

      But here’s what I have to say about Cornell and Georgetown. I applied to both for law school; Cornell waitlisted me and Georgetown (my first choice) outright denied me. I took myself off the Cornell waitlist when I got into a school I liked much better (which I loved), but I can tell you exactly why I didn’t get into Georgetown, and why Sandra Fluke didn’t learn a damn thing at their law school besides how to demand more free crap from Daddy Government. They require a “diversity statement” with each student’s law school application. Seriously. They consider this an Actual Qualification to study law. Once you start considering someone’s demographics, you’re headed down the road to ruin, because then you have to start catering to those various demographics instead of, oh, I don’t know, TEACHING PEOPLE HOW TO BE LAWYERS.

      I could rip her apart in ten pages or less if she objected to something I filed. Just saying.

      (Also, can I just say how thankful I am that I didn’t get into Georgetown? All I wanted was to study law in Tokyo for a semester, and Georgetown has the best program in the country, or at least they did when I was applying–but that wouldn’t have been worth going to school with Sandra Fluke’s elders)

      • Ish says:

        I was lucky enough that Oakland University’s Womens Studies department was mostly made up of professors from other “real” disciplines, like Sociology, English, or History, and not the sort of “Zardoz Feminists”* that would result from Feminist, Gender, & Sexuality Studies programs at larger schools. Thus THE PENIS IS EVIL! wasn’t part of the curiculum…

        Although, my inate ability to feed on schadenfreude in the same manner that a plant photosynthetically feeds on sunlight probably helped too. In a box somehwere around here, unpacked after three or four moves now, I have an autographed copy of The Vagina Monologs…

  2. […] we’ve talked about contraception in the past… Hell, “Abortion” is its own category and “Sandra Fluke” has her […]

Leave a Reply

The Ministry of Nerds

We're nerds . . . who talk politics.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

