Why I cancelled my Netflix membership

Leave a comment

October 2, 2012 by Julia

I had Netflix before Netflix streaming was a thing.  At the time, I had JUST converted from downloading illegal anime online to only watching legal releases, and for $8 a month, I (legally) got all the anime I could watch.  I watched several entire shows that way, and most of some others, plus various movies.  It’s how I got to see After Life (Wonderful Life, in the original Japanese), which is a great movie I highly recommend.  But then I noticed something.  Anime DVDs started to go missing and not be replaced.  I called customer service on multiple occasions, and each time, they told me missing DVDs were replaced within three months.  Two years passed, more went missing, and none were replaced.  Eventually, it got to the point where I couldn’t start any of the shows in my queue, because at least one DVD was missing from each of them.  Even the live action Goong was missing two DVDs!  I kept checking streaming, and even when anime finally started to appear, it was all dubbed.  What’s the point? I asked myself.  Anime is free on Crunchyroll and Hulu, I can get movies from Redbox for $1, or free through my cable on-demand service (I’m already paying for the cable, so why pay Netflix again for the same service?), and tv shows can be DVRed or watched on demand without having to wait for the whole season to appear on Netflix (I have friends just now watching the first season of Once Upon a Time, and I am forbidden from even discussing season 2 on Facebook because of this).  Goong is even available, legally and for free, on Viki.  So, I cancelled Netflix, and haven’t regretted it since.

Especially when I see this:

 

I know there are a lot of Netflix fans out there, and more power to you, that’s cool, use whatever service you want.  Capitalism and competition are awesome!  But . . . I don’t think I’ll ever go back.

Leave a Reply

The Ministry of Nerds

We're nerds . . . who talk politics.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

