Racists in Blue

4

October 23, 2012 by Julia

(I will continue to be somewhat AWOL through the weekend, I’m sorry to say.  We are hosting a party this weekend, so that has required most of my time)

The people who made Runaway Slave, one of my all-time favorite movies, announced recently that it is now available on demand, both streaming and for direct download.  So now, if you don’t live near one of the theaters, you can still watch this great movie and support the creators!  Seriously, I cannot tell you enough how much I loved this movie.  I was lucky enough to see it in a theater, and not only did it make me cry out of pride for being an American and being on the same side as these fine people, but it was one of maybe five times I have been in a theater where the entire audience applauded at the end (the last two were Avengers and Return of the King–I feel like maybe there was something before that, but I can’t remember).

In honor of this awesome development, let’s talk about race, because it’s been popping up a lot recently–and trust me, it’s not the GOP raising the issue.  Conservatism, as an ideology, is explicitly race-neutral.  We believe in individuals, not demographics; each person, with his or her own talents, flaws, and choices, is separate and distinct from any group to which society or the Left wants to assign him or her.  PJ Media published a great op-ed on this issue within the last year, actually, but I can’t find the link.

In keeping with this basic truth, which is often ignored or re-written by leftists, Runaway Slave has an entire section narrated by Marvin Rogers about the racist past of the Democrat Party.  Even though I knew some of it going in, I still learned something.  Charlie Martin recently wrote a great piece, listing a partial timeline of Democrat racism; there are additional examples in the comments.

I started thinking about Martin’s list in the context of the 2012 election, and pondered how the Democrats are still the racists, 100+ years later.  Think about it.  Who thinks that people should vote based on their color of their skin instead of on any other issue?  Who gives speeches implying that the other party wants to put a race “back in chains” to indoctrinate people as to what voting based on their race requires?  Who nominates Supreme Court justices because of their race–you know, looking for “wise Latinas?”  Who believes that Middle Easterners and Africans are less than human to the extent that they aren’t as responsible for their own choices as white adults are responsible for theirs?  Who reacts with racial slurs and death threats when someone declares his or her intent to vote for someone inappropriate for his or her race? Who the hell believes for whom you are allowed to vote is dictated by your skin color in the first place?!  The Democrats, that’s who.  It is the Democrats more than anyone else who are determined to prevent the dreams of Martin Luther King, Jr. from coming to pass.

A black audience member at the town hall debate is undecided?  Dude better sit down and shut up for not toeing the line.  Actress Stacey Dash wants to vote for Mitt Romney?  Obviously, a race traitor (and even with all that nastiness, her response was classy).  In fact, if any black person wants to vote for Romney, well, they should just kill themselves.  Don’t worry, that won’t lead to any deaths, because no black person is voting for Romney.  No, really, a poll said so once.  Naturally, black conservatives were not amused.

The above shouldn’t really surprise us, though.  I mean, this is the party that smears people like Condoleezza Rice, Herman Cain, Mia Love, and Allen West on a daily basis.  At the same time, they’ve become convinced (or, rather, they convince regular people) that Republicans want to enslave and/or kill black people.  The whole idea is to keep the black community voting Democrat, regardless of whether it is in their best interest to do so.  Think about it:  if the Dems have all the answers, why are most inner cities still hellholes after decades of Democrat leadership?  Runaway Slave likens the Democrats’ attempts to shore up the black vote to slavery, arguing that the Left has turned the black community into slaves dependent upon the government for survival, voting “correctly” in order to continue to receive free stuff.  Runaway Slaves posits that this outcome was a direct result of LBJ’s Great Society programs (vacillating between the result being intended or unintended)

Regardless, Col. West nails it:

I went through 22 years being in the military.  [I rose] to the rank of Lieutenant Colonel.  I have a bachelor’s degree and 2 master’s degrees, and for these white liberals to believe they can have this condescending manner toward black conservatives, that we need to have approval from our quote unquote, I guess “masters,” for us to be able to speak — see that’s where the true racism really lies, is with the white liberals who don’t want to see someone such as myself, that broke away from their dependency class, and is out here and able to possibly contend against them with the policies that they are promoting that is destroying the black community.

I know I’m their number one target, and it just emboldens me to speak out even stronger.  And the heck with them if they think that someone else needs to approve [of] me and what I stand for.

 

4 thoughts on “Racists in Blue

  1. Stuart the Viking says:

    I consider race to be irrelevant. A person is a person is a person.

    I recently had a conversation with a woman and this topic came up. According to her, that was the most racist thing she has ever heard.

    Yep, you guessed it, she is a FLAMING liberal (progressive).

    I would have taken the time to talk with her and find out the basis of her opinion, but apparently she didn’t want to talk to such a racist asshole any longer.

    Therefore I declare: If my position (of considering race to be irrelevant) is racist, then I guess I am unable to change and must embrace my racist attitude, and continue to believe that race is irrelevant.

    s

    • Julia says:

      That right there is the philosophy that I don’t understand–it’s somehow racist to treat all people equally, regardless of color? To me, that is the exact opposite of racism, but I have been called a racist more than once because of it.

      They must think MLK was the worst racist of all. Running around judging people on the content of their character and not the color of their skin–for shame!

  2. “Reagan won because he ran against Jimmy Carter. If he ran unopposed he would have lost.”

  3. […] 15% of the fans.  For instance, I didn’t see that the Runaway Slave Facebook page linked to my article yesterday until this morning when it finally showed up in my […]

Leave a Reply

The Ministry of Nerds

We're nerds . . . who talk politics.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

